Traumatized by a Techie

April 27, 2010

Today, I was seriously traumatized by a Techie. It has nothing to do with the fact that he was Pinoy. One of my best friends is Pinoy or so she claims- but I think she really is Mexican- her brother is my godson and her mom prays I get married everytime she’s in Makkah… And all my nurses/ beauticians/ laser therapists are Pinoy too!! So I love them!! It’s not a nationality thing.

My morning started with me going to Sony at 8:30 am and handing in Valentina- my beautiful VAIO.

A very sleepy, quiet Jeddawi Customer Service Rep asked me what was wrong and I told him my speakers weren’t working and hadn’t been working for a while- but I’d just never had time to take Valentina in due to my busy schedule and I didnt want anyone else to take her in- I had to personally get her checked.

So the well dressed, young man in his crisp white thobe, asked me to switch her on. As he gently began to stroke her, he coldly mumbled ” why isn’t the mouse working?” to which I replied- it was morning and he should cut her some slack. He ignored my comment and continued to stare at her, wide-eyed and waiting. Then he carried on ” she needs to be formatted”. My heart skipped a beat! The word format reminds me of a colonoscopy and laxatives! And this man said the word so easily. People should seriously think before they use the F-word!   

But I KNEW she didn’t have to be formatted because I had thoroughly researched my speaker problem online and discussed it plenty of times with my uber-intelligent friends so I knew exactly what it was and I wasn’t ready to be intimidated by this non-morning man!!!

I turned blue and I defiantly said NO- she’s fine- she doesn’t need to be eff-ed.

To furthermore prove I was not some unintelligent ditsy chica, I started to inform him about the FAQ’s I had gone over and which websites to find them on and I also told him how I personally tried to go somewhere on control panel and update some device. So WHAT-EVA.

I guess my techie talk showed I meant business, so he asked me if I wanted coffee and smiled, allowing me to clearly make note of his braces. Poor darling just came off as rude because of his low self-esteem due to the braces and severe acne. I’m so ignorant sometimes, and I instantly felt at home with Abdulaziz and forgave him.

Now thats when Andrew came into the picture. I explained my problem to this quiet man who made no eye contact whatsoever and patiently sat waiting and watching him as he did his thing. His outfit said he’d make things alright again. It was the khaki colored waistcoat and blue t-shirt and usb on a string around his neck that convinced me.  

He asked me the regular stuff. What was wrong, bla bla. And I repeated myself. I certainly did not expect to get yelled at by Andy- and his snapping soo caught me off-guard.

Here’s the thing people, I don’t know okkkay— I have 2 anti-virus programs because I believe 2 is always better than 1and back ups are always good???  Anyways, he has removed one!

As I sat bb-ing- he wanted to talk. He noticed how I had a certain game on my laptop- make-up mahjong and said “oh you play mah-jong” I defensively said- yes I do.

Then he added how I had to get a hard drive and put all my stuff on it since my laptop was getting full. I don’t know why, but he asked me if I knew what a hard drive was?! Is it my expression!??! A year ago I would have been confused, but I’m so much better at techie stuff now. And why would he think I don’t know what a hard drive is? Does he know my friends??!

Overwhelmed by Andy’s comments, I kept quiet and listened as he went on and on about upgrading my laptop and how I should buy this thing so my speed is faster. The RAM and stuff. And for some reason he had these intensely mean giggles, and I’m a nice person really.

Then he asked me why my computer was taking a whole lot of space and do I work in fashion. To which I replied- no I’m a blogger (hoping to impress him I guess and proud of my newfound passion). I think he rolled his eyes at me.

Once he was done updating things, he wanted to know why I didn’t use the finger-print security option since I had it. And he started to show me OMG how to swipe my finger and how easy it was to do!! I didn’t even have the energy to explain to him that sometimes I have traces of make-up on my fingers which doesnt allow the finger-print scanner to read my fingerprints. I was just devastated and humiliated and hungry.   

I have however, learnt from todays experience, that I love Valentina just the way she is and I may consider upgrading her. What if she only has 1 giga something, and the rest of the world are using 8 as Andy directed this statement towards me, in a what- I- assume very sarcastic manner.

You sometimes love things the way they are and for who/ what they are..

p.s. My speakers work now! Despite how you made me feel Andy- I appreciate it..

4 Responses to “Traumatized by a Techie”

  1. diana Says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I CAN’T STOP LAUGHING AT THIS.

    Ah, Andy Andy Andy.

    I must be introduced to Andy. I might get to meet him pretty soon, actually; he will be meeting MY Vaio, Olaf (who happens to be Valentina’s cousin?? Hello, EUROPEAN NAMES?).

    My last trip to Sony was just as funny. I had the laptop’s fan fixed (which is the SAME PROBLEM this time around, grr), and when they gave it back to me, booby, THEY CLEANED MY LAPTOP. And the description on the receipt read:

    “VERY DIRTY LAPTOP”

    HAHAHA. Which was embarrassing coz Olaf was only a couple months old then.

    I bet Andy was behind all that. Snob.

  2. Mickey Says:

    i noticed that alot in saudi,they take the customers ignorance for them to show off their expertise,while they dont know a rats ass about it.

    honey,get ur self a mac,those pretty hands need one!

  3. Linzy Says:

    Your funny- love the way u express yourself, Ms. Creative Writing screaming all over the place!
    Don’t worry they always wanna format everything. If they could, they would even format people! And yes, they don’t know half the things they try to claim they do!
    Totally can’t wait to get myself a Mac 🙂 Thats gonna be my next baby- named Babee MacMac!


  4. I love this post! I hate the F word too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

